Home » Animals » A total change of direction

A total change of direction

When Jasper left for rainbow Bridge fifteen months ago, he left a massive hole in our family, and and even bigger one in my heart.
Then recently Little Sal went to joint him at the bridge, taking another big chunk of my heart with her.
Only a pet owner will know that emptiness I’m talking about.

I know everyone is different, and we all deal with our grief in different ways.
Mine has always been to try and fill that hole as soon as I can as it gives me something to focus on, and if by doing so I can help another poor lost soul have a happier life, well that is reward enough for me.

If this poem is anything to go by, I’m sure Sally and Jasper will be happy too.

Before humans die, they write their last will and testament, giving their home and all they have to those they leave behind.

If, with my paws, I could do the same, this is what I’d ask…
To a poor and lonely stray, I’d give my happy home; my bowl and cozy bed, soft pillow and all my toys; the lap, which I loved so much; the hand that stroked my fur; and the sweet voice that spoke my name.

I’d will to the sad, scared, shelter dog the place I had in my human’s loving heart, of which there seemed no bounds.

So, when I die, please do not say, “I will never have a pet again, for the loss and the pain is more than I can stand.”
Instead, go find an unloved dog, one whose life has held no joy or hope, and give my place to him.
This is the only thing I can give…
The love I left behind.

In my mind, I was looking for a long haired, male collie, but had gone to Wythall Animal Sanctary to look at an older, long haired female collie.
I ended falling for Misty a four and a half year old Staffy cross.

Talk about a total change of direction.

She had lived with a man and his five children, until his circumstances had changed and he became unable to look after her.

Misty 1.11.2014reduced

Yesterday I went to collect Misty.

She has settled in extremely well, even taking Cindy’s Little Dog Syndrome in her stride.

More to follow, as and when I get the time.

 

***Sadly after three attacks on Cindy, I couldn’t risk a serious injury, so not long after this post was written I reluctantly returned Misty to the rescue. She has since been successfully re homed ***

 

20 thoughts on “A total change of direction

  1. That’s a beautiful poem Vicky. It says it all and so eloquently. Fifteen months? So long ago. Seems like yesterday, as does LS 😦 Jasp left a hole here too, but you need a gentle big furry dog to understand that feeling.

    I think Misty looks quite gorgeous, especially in her girly collar 😉 actually it looks quite chic. Looking forward to getting to know her. Must find the rare photos of mum and dad’s brindle staffs cross to share.

    • Yes, it is a beautiful poem isn’t it, another author unknown one.
      You know more than anyone how much Jasp’s death ate into me, Little Sal’s almost tipped me over the edge after the last few months 😥
      Hopefully Misty will keep my mind occupied and help me as much as I can help her.
      Do dig the pic out your parents dog sounds very similar 😊

      • It is spot on. I would stick it in front of everyone’s nose who chooses to buy a pedigree puppy. What’s wrong with breed specific rescues eg BCT, nope, we want our own expensive pup and those rejects can rot in a shelter. Oh, well you know my views …

        When I did the Dogs With Blogs news site thing, I found it pretty upsetting. A was concerned to find me in tears after I’d read that yet another dog I’d ‘known’ well had gone bridgewise, and he’d suggested I chucked it before I eventually did.

        The trouble is, the internet is pervasive and you can quickly develop an empathy with a dog and their person via their blog. And, as I wrote to someone yesterday/today, we all understand exactly how the person feels when their dog dies. We’ve been there, and will no doubt be there again. And when there are more similarities, a rescue, a similar bred or type of dog, the understanding is even deeper.

        Sorry that was a bit heavy, I was thinking about the other dog I’d read about and the woman wrote a thank you post to people saying she had found the blog comments following his death (massive heart attack) extremely supportive.

        I am sure Misty will help, she sounds loving and wanting to be loved and to please. Bruno was an absolute darling, he would always come bounding over to me whenever I visited. He didn’t have a bad bone in his body (but few dogs do eh?)

        • There are so many breed specific rescues around, I don’t understand the ‘breeders puppy’ thing either. I was actually given a link to a Belgium Tervuren needing a home, a beautiful dog, but too big this time round.
          The internet is a very emotive place if you let it be, I need to wean myself away from the Romanian rescues I’ve been looking at recently, I’m in tears every time 😥

  2. I went out to rescue a dog that day
    to give her a really good life
    To take her away from the life that she had
    and free her from trouble and strife.

    I thought I would do her a favour
    and be a good person to her
    and go do my bit for the country
    I didn’t go out on a whim.

    But what do you think really did happen?
    the day that I did my good deed
    I discovered a love I’d just dreamed of
    and fulfilled in myself a strong need.

    I now have a dog that I care for
    I see things that I needed to see
    that lovely dog that I rescued
    really ended up rescuing me!

    Fionna D
    (slightly adapted from original)
    I’ve yet to meet the lovely Misty (won’t be long before I do) but I found this poem and it seems to fit the bill Vic. I know she will fill a large hole in your heart if you let her.

  3. Only him for her. Yes I shed a few tears trying to find the right one, so many lovely poems out there. We’re obviously not the only ones out there that feel the way we do.

    • I think it’s a fine poem too Ina. So, so true. We think we are doing something good, and hopefully we are, but you really can’t measure how much they bring into our lives, broken ankles excepted, although there is a slight positive spin on that in a way, but I’ll not go off topic.

      Apart from the love, affection, fun, and overall raising of our spirits, at a practical level they bring routine into our lives, and they make sure we go out for lots of walks. 99% of dogs bring far more into a home than they take, IMO.

  4. Misty is beautiful. She has lovely eyes. I always like Staffy’s smooth soft coats. Both the poem you shared and Ina’s in the comments are so true and touching. it is terribly hard to loose a furry family member. They become an intrinsic part of our lives, more so than many humans. We are often able to share parts of ourselves that we don’t otherwise. I’m so happy for you and Misty that you have come together to start another chapter in each other’s lives.

    • It was her eyes that drew me to her too, she just sat in the corner of her kennel and looked at me.
      It’s very early days yet, but I’m hoping Cindy and her will bond in at least a fraction of the way Sal and Jasp did.

  5. It is with unbelievable sadness, I have to report that Misty has had to be returned to the animal sanctuary.
    She was a gorgeous, friendly dog with all she met, both human and canine, but with Cindy she became the dominant dog.
    She had lunged aggressively on three occasions, the last when she actually made contact and grabbed Cindy on the back of the neck, Cindy almost went into meltdown. I decided it was safer for both dogs to not live together anymore.
    Misty was a little gem, very loving and extremely well behaved. I hope she finds her forever home soon, where she will be an only dog, and receive the one to one love she so deserves.
    Good luck little one.

    • Oh Vicky, I was momentarily so happy for you and Misty and enjoyed the comments here. And while I can imagine your disappointment, the thought occurred to me that this short interlude has given Misty a chance to become available for adoption into a forever home yet again and the right person or persons were not yet available beforehand.
       
      I remember being disappointed when a few years back a girl cat whose photo I had fallen in love with was suddenly no longer available because she had already been adopted. I still remember her name was Isabella and I had already been calling her Bella in my mind.
       
      It was good for her to find another good forever home and in the end it was good for Timmy and us when it came time that he needed a new home. He is an alpha cat as well and we could not have had him move in with us if Bella was here. And I simply could not imagine not having him here. It was a long wait but in the end, so worth it. He can be a little rascal but he is adorable and we are so happy he has become a part of our family.
       
      At the same time it must have been so disappointing that it didn’t work out with Misty and I feel for you. Hugs from me and purrs from Timmy.
       
      But at the same time I am sure that somewhere there is a pup who is a perfect fit, even with Cindy, and you will meet up, and I am looking forward to that story when the time is right. Do take care! XXX

  6. Thank you Kris,
    I feel as though I’ve let Misty down by having to return her, she was brilliant in all aspects, except with Cindy.
    If I’d have kept her though, I’d have been letting little Cindy down.
    As you have said, with Bella and Timmy, I do think things happen for a reason, and there is someone out there for her, the same as the right one is there for me somewhere too.

Leave a Reply

