Home » Animals » Dogs » Cindy

Cindy

IMG_4453

As a lot of you who read my blog regularly will know, Cindy my mum’s yorkie has been lodging with us for over a year, due to my mum’s deteriorating health.

Not too long ago (unknown to me), mum held T’s hand between both of hers and pleaded, that if anything should ever happen to her, would he promise her he’d look after Cindy.

On January 28th I got a phone call from Harrogate hospital, saying they thought I ought to be at the hospital.

We quickly packed the car, and set off in just over thirty minutes.

I stayed at my mums bedside until late Tuesday evening, and returned first thing Wednesday morning.

She looked very peaceful sleeping, occasionally appearing to be having a conversation with someone. She finally drifted away about 4.30pm Wednesday 29th January.

T only told me my mum’s wish on Sunday, so yesterday, I contacted the ID chip company and changed Cindy’s details from my mums to mine.

Cindy is now officially part of our pack.

R.I.P. Ella Kathlyn Teal……… mum………… I will keep T’s promise xx

******************

I have a lot of things to sort out, so there may be a lack of posts in the next few weeks – Vicky x

21 thoughts on “Cindy

  1. I knew you would anyway regardless of any promises made. She may be a “liitle rat” but she was your moms “liitle rat” and she is part of her (and she’s a lovely little girl even though Paddy is scared of her)

  2. Very sorry for your loss. I know how tough it is and will be for a good while yet. A dog brings comfort I find and Cindy will be a good companion. Well done, T.

    • Thank you Andrew.
      It had been expected for a while now, so hasn’t come as an enormous shock.
      Little Sal has sort of accepted Cindy, and Cindy has had her paws under the table for a while now.

  3. I’m so sorry too, for the passing of your Mum. I’m shedding a few tears at that, and that it meant so much to her to make sure Cindy was looked after but I wouldn’t have expected otherwise from your Mum. I’m a big dog person too but there are well deserving exceptions and Cindy certainly is one, for many reasons, the least of which she’s your Mum’s dog, a lovely legacy.

    • Thank you ED.
      She always put Cindy first, declining offers to do things or go places which would have left Cindy alone for more than a couple of hours.
      She loved all creatures, whether fur or feather.
      As RS’s has said….yorkie, podenco or whatever, I’d never turn my back on a animal in need.
      My mum taught me well 🙂

  4. aw Vicky, life has been crazy busy and i am just reading your lines now. so sorry to hear about the loss of your Mum. and am happy for Cindy to have a permanent forever home now. we don’t always end up with the pets we choose, but the ones who end up adopting us often surprise us with their own endearing qualities. that is a brilliant click of Cindy! 🙂

    • Thanks Chris.
      Yes you’re right, I’d never have thought I’d end up with one of the smallest dogs there are, but she does have an enormous character 😊

Leave a Reply

