Home » Floods » Is Britain sinking?

Is Britain sinking?

The coasts are being battered by tidal surges, and with the continuous rain, the rivers are bursting their banks.

In the spring of 2012 many counties had already imposed a hosepipe ban on their residents, it was soon lifted when we had one of the wettest summers for 100 years.

Even after last summer (2013), which was the warmest since 2006, to my knowledge there weren’t any hosepipe bans anywhere.

Today we went to Worcester on the train, a journey of about fifteen miles. Looking out of the window across the quagmire of mud and water that was once fields, I started to wonder how much more water our country can take.

The River Severn – which flows through Worcester – ย is the UK’s longest river. Starting in the hills of North Wales, it enters the Bristol channel 220 miles later, wreaking havoc in times of flood, with many towns and cities en route.

The scenes in this short video are becoming a far too common sight these days. Not the worst I’ve seen, but they do seem to be happening more frequently.

IMG_4684

The above photo of T (standing near Watergate) pointing to the highest recorded level that I’ve seen, was taken in August 2013.

Todays level, which can be seen on the Watergate clip in the video below, I’m guessing would probably be up to his waist.

 

8 thoughts on “Is Britain sinking?

  1. You’re just trying to show more water than I did in Gib! And you won ๐Ÿ˜€

    You didn’t say who the music was, but it’s Dylan of course (she says smugly not having had a clue so googled the lyrics). I don’t like Dylan, but that is really really good, love it. Especially the bit about If I had wings and I could fly – how on earth did you time that?

    Did you think about Springsteens The River? about the only one I can think of that comes to mind and totally inappropriate ๐Ÿ˜€ What was the one you did want to use?

    Loved the captions. And it looks very blustery in one of those vids. How long did it take you to put together? Probably not as long as me having to download a plug-in to turn my clips ๐Ÿ˜€

    • ๐Ÿ˜‰ The music? well you were right and wrong.
      Yes it is a Dylan song, but not him singing.
      I have his version on a CD, which is the one I originally uploaded, until YouTube wiped the soundtrack totally.
      I tried several river/rain songs, including Springsteen’s The River and Jimmy Nail’s Big River (excellent song, but about the Tyne) but nothing slotted so well with the flying birds, the words just happened to fall in the right place.
      So I did a search for other versions of ‘Watching the river flow’ I found several, but the one in the video is by The Original Steve Gibbons Band, which I like better than Dylan’s.
      I also found a version by Joe Cocker, but his vocals weren’t as clear, which I needed them to be.
      The video footage was quick and easy, straight from my little Kodak Playsport into iMovie, no messing or editing needed, the captions took a little longer to conjure up, and sorting the music the longest.

      • Haha. Mis PopPicker. No wonder I liked it if it wasn’t Dylan ๐Ÿ˜€ I vaguely remember SG although don’t know why. See he is from your part of the world. How did you import the other versions, although tell me by email if you want.

        I like Joe Cocker too, but it does depend on the time and the record as to how good he is.

        Sorting the music is what I find hard, to get it spot on right using audio whatsit. Took me ages to do that tiny vid on Pippa’s to cut off the music exactly where I wanted. Well, nearly exactly ๐Ÿ˜€

        • I’d heard of the Steve Gibbons Band too, but didn’t know why.
          T has just told me they sung ‘My Baby is the Centrefold’, I remember that well early 80’s
          I don’t know about your iMovie version, but in the edit section it can be pinned to the images and faded in and out too. This helps when there’s not enough footage.
          I went to iTunes Store for the other version for 79p. I wouldn’t have done if I didn’t like the song though.

  2. Pingback: A day of normality? | Vics Pics and More

Leave a Reply

