Home » Dorset » Charmouth » Fossil on the Jurassic

Fossil on the Jurassic

I was beginning to think the motorhome was going to stay on the drive this year.

The weather had been cold and wet, and the last thing we wanted was to be stuck in a confined space with three wet dogs. Yes, that is three dogs, Cindy mum’s dog is still lodging with us, as my mum is still in hospital.

Anyway after checking the long range weather forecast (no idea why, as it is well know to change by the hour), in rather a spur of the moment decision, we booked ourselves on a campsite in Charmouth, Dorset.

Spur of the moment is an understatement.

We’d woken up on the Monday morning to blue skies and sun beaming in through the window, I looked at T and said, “we shouldn’t be here, we should be on the coast somewhere”

“Come on then Fossil, lets go then” was his reply.

So following a recommendation from a friend of T’s, we phoned Seadown Holiday Park at Charmouth, and booked ourselves in for a week.

There were a couple of minor problems though, Monday being our usual food shop day, we didn’t have much in the cupboards to take with us, and secondly, after six months of hair growth I’d started to resemble a shaggy dog, so I’d organised for my hairdresser to cut my hair in the afternoon. I was just contemplating cancelling my appointment when the phone suddenly rang….

Talk about fate!! Β “Hi Vicky, it’s Marian, is there any chance I could do your hair this morning?”Β So I got my hair cut after all πŸ™‚

In the meantime T set off to the supermarket for provisions, coming back armed with all the basics, which were soon stored away in the cupboards.

We grabbed an armful of clothes complete with hangers out of the wardrobe, and hung them straight into the motorhome wardrobe.

I always take plenty of jumpers and my waterproofs, but after being caught out with the glorious weather in Whitby last year, I made a point of taking several vests and shorts, just in case.

Dogs safely zipped into their travel crates (yes an extra crate had to be bought for Cindy), by 1pm we were on the road.

Fuel and tyres are normally done the night before a trip, so that was our first port of call, followed halfway down another stop for a ‘doggy stretchy leg break’ we pulled onto site about 5.30pm.

WOW, we’d hit gold again!!

The site was immaculate, totally flat well maintained pitches, which T said resembled a golf course.

We sited the motorhome, hooked up the electrics, and before we’d even put the kettle on, set off to find the beach.

IMG_4231

The River Char runs along the campsite grounds and into the sea. Walking along the riverbank, 150 yards later and over this bridge we were there.

IMG_4267

Heading back to the motorhome, we discussed attaching our new drive away awning. We’d bought it last year, but circumstances had stopped our holidays, before we’d had chance to try it. So we expected the next hour to be fraught and possibly argue filled.

Did I say hour? Ha!……….

…………….three hours later, and almost dark, we collapsed in a heap, totally brain dead and shattered.

Erecting the tent part was easy, attaching it to the motorhome, so we could actually get inside wasn’t. A few days later, talking to a couple pitched nearby, they had been in a similar predicament, and had been watching us hoping to pick up a few tips. Needless to say, we scrutinised every new arrival, hoping to do the same πŸ˜€

The idea of the awning, was for the dogs to sleep in it, giving us a bit more floor space inside, but the temperature had dropped, and there was no way we were going to make them sleep in it. The other problem was Cindy, being so small she could have escaped under the van.

We all settled down inside for a much needed night’s sleep. Sal and Jasp, seasoned motor homer’s now, crashed out straight away…….but not little Cindy, she decided she was going to dig her way out through the carpet. I’m not a nice person, when I’m tired and want to sleep, and by 3am, I was ready to chuck her out of the window. Eventually, as dawn was breaking, she drifted off.

I must have done so not long after, as the next thing I remember was T waking me up with a cuppa at 8am and demandingΒ “This is our first and last holiday this year, and that (pointing at Cindy) is in the awning tonight!!!”

Hey, at least the sun was shinning, so after breakfast, we all set off to the beach.

IMG_4264

This coastline is called the Jurassic coast, and is a World Heritage site, literally thousands of fossils have been found as the cliffs crumble into the sea. This Jurassic rock, runs through The Cotswolds to the North Yorkshire coast, two of my favourite places. I wonder if that’s why T calls me fossil?

Copied from Natural England website

Marine Jurassic rocks comprising mudstones, limestones and sands run right across the country from Dorset to North Yorkshire. Lower Jurassic rocks are superbly exposed on the Dorset and North Yorkshire coasts, while Middle Jurassic oolitic limestones deposited in warm shallow seas and over tidal flats now form the broad ridges of the Cotswolds and their continuation through Northamptonshire and into Lincolnshire.

IMG_4265

I have a fascination with rows of beach huts. I just love the colour of these.

Jasper was finding the beach difficult to walk on because of all the rocks, so we made our way back to the site, and spent the day relaxing.

After a second night of Cindy playing up, we were about ready to call it a day and go home, but the third night she suddenly became ‘Ms Perfect’, perhaps she heard us talking πŸ˜‰

Much of the week was spent doing the same. We took in turns to go out, so poor Jasp could relax on site, as his legs were giving him grief.

T went into Lyme Regis on the bus one of the days. That same afternoon, I walked to the top of the cliff with Sal.

IMG_4257Halfway up looking down at the bridge and the River Char.

I went into Lyme Regis the next day.

IMG_4297

Lyme Regis harbour.

In the centre of the photo, where the cliffs dip is where the River Char flows into the sea.

IMG_4290

Lyme Regis sea front.

IMG_4648

We managed to catch the tide out on one of the evenings, so a walk on the sand was called for.

IMG_4336

The last afternoon.

With the tent awning packed away ready for an early departure, once again we relaxed for a final time.

We’d had a week of stunning weather, and a holiday that almost ended early, finish with us not wanting to leave.

25 thoughts on “Fossil on the Jurassic

  1. What a glorious looking place, Vicky! I’ve never made it to that stretch of coast. Bit of a hike from here.
    How long’s your mum been in hospital now? Hope she’s recovering. πŸ™‚

    • Charmouth was certainly a very pleasant surprise, I always imagine the south coast to be hustle, bustle, candy floss and amusement arcades. Lyme Regis was a lot smaller than I expected too, just a normal little town, that happened to be on the coast. It is definitely on our return list. πŸ™‚

    • Sorry Jo, I didn’t answer your question.
      My mum has been in and out of Harrogate hospital since February.
      There is no physical reason for her problems, I have said all along, I’m sure its a mental anxiety.
      She is making slight improvement, but no sign of being discharged as yet.
      Thank you for asking about her πŸ™‚

  2. LOL, lovely post, my wife and I laughed at the lack of sleep due to Cindy and you about to eject her through the window. Glad you had a great time and the photos, as ever, are beautiful. It is a nice area. I’ve been to Lyme Regis a few times many years ago but I seem to remember the beach being cobbles rather than sand. Has it changed since? We love the photo of the beach huts, the colours are lovely and my wife and I laughed as oddly enough we’ve just painted our fence and workshop in pastel blue and cream. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I can look back at it now with a ‘these things come to try us’ smile, but believe me it wasn’t funny at the time 😑 Lyme Regis really surprised me how genteel it was.
      I could imagine Victorian ladies strolling along the promenade. It was still very cobbly, but think of all the fossils they must hold.
      I can remember searching for fossils on the Yorkshire coast as a child, I’d have had a hey day there πŸ˜‰

      • Yes, many fossils! My girls would love it. The love rooting around in the gravel on our drive and pathways and find a surprising amount of fossils even there so they could have serious fun on that beach πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ Isn’t it amazing how photos (and for me the music you post) stir distant memories, that make us want to return to those days?

      • It is weird how things affect us in different ways,, as you say about my music,, and for me also the new forest,,, but used spend a lot of time down the coast from Weymouth onwards when younger.. πŸ˜‰

  3. Love the title. So clever and thoughtful.

    Three dogs in a MH? Wimp. Try taking three dogs camping with a tent.

    I haven’t been to a hairdresser for years. And I mean years. Have nail scissors, clip off split ends to achieve fetching dragged-through-hedge-backwards look. Or so I like to think.

    Have man, send him to supermarket. I can say no more.

    Location looks beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Drive away awning? Is that like our Caranex that you could stick behind the landy and then leave behind? Hmm. Not one of our best investments although great for rainy weather for cooking. Well, given that all we have is a backpacking tent! a Caranex was a significant improvement.

    Cotswolds to NY is amazing, I didn’t know that.

    Beach huts are great. Bit of a shortage where I live πŸ˜€

    Glorious photos Vicky and so pleased you had great weather. I think when you pack the MH wherever you go the weather works for you πŸ™‚

    • LOL, I thought it was rather apt, seeing T has called me fossil for years πŸ˜‰
      Ha ha, floor space was at a premium in the MH.
      One dog that can’t move out of the way, one dog that can’t hear, and one so small, if I trod on her it would be curtains…..did I mention I tripped over them and took a chunk out of my arm on the kitchen cupboard?
      Drive away awning is exactly like a Caranex. We’d have had no problem, if the door into the MH was central, but its forward position caused it to fowl on the awning when it was opened. We have decided to take it out to a grassy area nearby and practice before the next holiday.
      I must agree, we have been extremely lucky with our holiday weather since buying the MH πŸ™‚

  4. As I was reading your post my mind leapt to the book Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier, and is the story of Mary Anning,who lived in Lyme Regis – http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6457081-remarkable-creatures – your description of Charmouth sounded so much like it I was Google Map searching, and as I read on that you went to Lyme Regis, I was so happy – wonderful πŸ™‚
    Your pics are fantastic, like the weather. I really hope you do get to go back again.
    Despite the few tribulations you all seemed very content, including the dogs πŸ™‚

    • How lovely that your memory of the book was jogged from my post πŸ™‚
      On my fifth photo, the roof shinning on the coast is The Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre where I spend a couple of hours looking around.
      There was an article about Mary Anning, I thought at the time what an amazing woman she must have been to pursue an interest that must have been in those days a very male dominated.
      There were many books in the centre, I’m sure I saw Remarkable Creatures on sale, but didn’t link it to Mary Anning.
      Thank you for the link, I’m not a big book reader, but it sounds like one that could interest me.

      It is a fascinating coast, and reminds me so much of the many hours I spent fossil hunting with my dad on the Yorkshire coast. It is definitely marked for a return visit πŸ™‚

    • Hi ED,
      I just had to let you know we are just back from a week at Charmouth again. After your recommendation I decided to download the book Remarkable Creatures.
      As I’ve said before, I’m not a big book reader, but that book is brilliant.
      Reading it, sat on the very coastline it is written about really was amazing. πŸ™‚

  5. What a lovely holiday. Terrific photos and I’m so glad you were able to see it through to the end. I don’t think we could take Lulu with us and I think she’d be a nightmare in a motor home. Rock on, Fossil.

    • πŸ˜€ ‘Rock on Fossil’ that’s ace! LOL

      It was a very relaxing break, it would have been good to do some of the wonderful walks in the area, but we’d have put Jasp’s lights out if we had.
      Sal and Jasp took to the motorhome like ducks to water, I never expected Cindy not to, so it was an eye opener when she played up. Doesn’t Lulu like travelling?

  6. Pingback: Holiday woofs | Pic a colour 4 Me

  7. Pingback: Sonel’s black & white photo challenge – Nature | Pic a colour 4 Me

  8. Looks like a stunning place to visit and I could just smile about the doggie antics. Great shots and I am sure I wouldn’t want to leave either. Thanks for sharing. πŸ˜€

    • I guess there’s some dinosaurs somewhere in the cliffs just waiting to be discovered.
      There was a Scelidosaurus on display in the Charmouth Herritage Coast Centre, that was found in 2000.

      • As long as a live one doesn’t leap out at one!
        I’ve just remembered that I did spend a morning hunting fossils in that area some years ago. My then much younger grandson called it Library Juice.

  9. Pingback: running down the hallways, touching the walls « elladee

Leave a Reply

