Home » Animals » May YinYang (Yin)

May YinYang (Yin)

The Yin to Thursday’s Yang….

On Sunday 25th May, I had taken Harry a walk in the morning before setting off with some friends for a week on the Hebridean island of Islay.

T was out for most of the day, so Deb, my daughter was looking after Harry and Little Sal.

We’d just arrived in Glasgow for an overnight stop when Deb phoned me.

“Mum, Harry’s not very well”

T was due back anytime, so I told her to wait and see if he thought Harry needed to see the vet.

About thirty minutes later, my phone rang again, it was T this time. Harry had perked up a bit, but just to be on the safe side, he’d booked an appointment with the vet for the morning.

26th May 2008

The following paragraph was taken from my post: A wee dram in memory

…………….we stayed overnight in Glasgow, setting off early Monday morning to catch the ferry from Kennacraig. It was on this journey, through stunning scenery, that my mobile rang, it was Tony, he and Deb were at the vets with Harry, he’d gone downhill so fast in previous twenty fours hours, and they wanted me to speak to my vet. I heard my vets voice telling me there was nothing more he could do, and could he have my permission to………. the signal faded away. I tried calling back, but there wasn’t a signal. After what seemed like hours (though was probably only seconds, my phone rang again, it was Tony again, ‘Vic, I’ve given Vaughan (my vet) permission to do what he has to, is that OK?’ I managed a blubbering yes as the signal faded again……..

So exactly nine years and three days after adopting Harry, he left for Rainbow Bridge, and I wasn’t there to say goodbye 😦

I do believe he came to say goodbye to me though, which explains the last image in this short tribute to him.

9 thoughts on “May YinYang (Yin)

    • Folk have said to me a pet will leave when we aren’t around to save us the upset of saying goodbye. I don’t know about you, but it made me feel worse. 😦

  1. aw, what a touching tribute to a wonderful four-legged friend. Harry was a handsome big boy. they leave a gap, don’t they? and yet the memories of them are priceless. thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Spring Bank Holiday | Vics Pics and More

Leave a Reply

