Home » Animals » Lucky Black Cat!

Lucky Black Cat!

Yesterday T and I had decided we’d have a trip into Worcester.

It was a toss up between travelling by train with our senior rail passes and paying a discounted ยฃ3.30 each, or travelling for free on the Woosh Bus.

Looking at the time, it became obvious the 09.50 bus had already Whooshed to Worcester, in fact it had probably whooshed back too, so off we set for Bromsgrove rail station for the 12.10 train.

The trains around here seem to have their own personal timetable, so we were pleasantly surprised when our train trundled into the station on time.

IMG_4019

I have rather a good little app on my phone, that gives a live report of the location of the train. This was the only photo of the day, as the battery on my little Ixus died ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Arriving in Worcester, we made a bee line for Fat Face (a clothing shop). T was looking for some more shorts, and I had a birthday voucher from my daughters to spend.

Voucher spent, and with T still undecided on his shorts, we went for a wander around the shops (while he tried to make up his mind).

Now this was fatal, I can’t walk past a camera shop, without glancing in the window, and there in the shop’s window was a rather smart second hand DSLR body waving at me……‘Hi, you out there, you know you’d like me’

Well, to cut a long story short, the camera came home with me, but after charging the battery several times, it was obvious the battery or the charger were faulty, so after contacting the shop and arranging to exchange whichever, I packed the camera away ready for another trip to Worcester.

I stewed things over in my mind most of the evening, could there be anything else wrong that hadn’t come to light? perhaps it was the camera…..arrrrgh, had I made a mistake buying second hand? should I have spent a bit extra and bought new? would they even consider me doing that?

I was awake bright and early this morning for my second trip to Worcester, my plan was to Whoosh there and back before lunchtime, which meant the 09.50 Woosh bus.

After feeding the dogs, I let them out into the garden. Instead of going down onto the lawn as he usually does, Jasp started running round in circles on the decking with his nose to the ground, I called him in, but he was totally tunnel visioned on the decking boards. I went out to see what was wrong with him…..

“What’s up Jazzy” I said, like I expected him to tell me ๐Ÿ˜‰

I heard a plaintive Meeeeoooooow……‘Huh, it’s a cat is it? come on in Jasp, it’s cold out there!’

Again another louder MEEEEEEOOOOOOW!!!!!!!!!!

Looking around the garden, and no cat, I suddenly I became horror struck. OMG it was underneath me, UNDER the decking boards. I got down onto my hands and knees, and peering through the boards, I could see a black cat firmly wedged between the joists and the concrete base.

By this time, T had come out to see what all the commotion was, to find me, and Jasp, peering through the boards. “What the hell are you two doing” he asks….

I must admit it must have been an odd sight, both of us peering through the gaps in the decking boards at that time in the morning, well at any time of the day really ๐Ÿ˜†

‘There’s a cat stuck under there’ I shouted, pointing to the crack in the boards.

Which explains, why at 8am this morning, T was removing the boards.

IMG_4020

First one board, but the stupid cat,moved closer to the house.

IMG_4022

So then a second board.

The minute the second board was removed, a black streak shot past us both like a rocket. I was armed with my camera, but it all happened so fast, fat chance I had of getting a photo of it.

IMG_4023

One relieved cat run off to wherever, and a disgruntled T replaced all twenty four screws.

I made it to the bus stop for the 09.50 bus to Worcester ……with seconds to spare!

I changed the camera for a brand new one…….a Canon EOS 600D……

……..yes P&K, you’ve a lot to answer for ๐Ÿ˜‰

20 thoughts on “Lucky Black Cat!

  1. I’m not much use with a proper camera, but I do have a “lucky” black cat that comes a-calling. Not so lucky for baby birds of course, so he’ll soon be getting his marching orders.

    • The cat in question has a twin brother.
      For months a cat (I say A cat as we didn’t realise otherwise) used to sit on the kitchen window ledge and stare through the window, much to Jasp’s annoyance. Then one day I thought I was seeing double, as two identical cats were sat there staring in. They’re both totally fearless of Jasp, who’s going ballistic on the inside. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  2. Pippa feels for Jasp. Big time. And of course J told you what was up.

    Not like you to get up before 8am. You were obv well focused (haha) on the task for the day.

    I thought for a minute A had been moonlighting when I saw the pic of T. The only difference is that A wears black toetectors.

    • Yes, I only said to T earlier, I wonder what would have happened if J hadn’t been so inquisitive. I certainly wouldn’t normally be out on the decking at 7.30 in the morning.
      For some reason I was awake at 6am, probably in preparation for the clocks going forward this weekend.
      I’ve often though how similar A & T look physically.

  3. you were certainly up early, Vicky! wow, so many changes – a cat-rescue inspired post, and a new Canon EOS 600D, or Canon EOS Rebel T3i as they are called on this side of the Atlantic. so thrilled for you! Congratulations (and i do not feel very guilty)! well done. which lens(es) do you have?
     
    i so enjoyed this post. very kind of you to notice a cat in distress and T to work at the rescue!
     
    i still have a long ways to go to learn the ropes of the new camera, but i quite like what i have seen it do so far. i find i need to get a feel for it first before the user manual makes sense, so am still experimenting ๐Ÿ™‚ since the flash sometimes makes eyes look funny, especially pet eyes, i appreciate the ‘no flash’ mode.
     
    I’m also looking forward to getting out and capturing some macros and scenic vistas. and am especially looking forward to seeing your new images, too! have fun with your it!
     
    Timmy sends his regards. Timmy is very fond of people, especially those who are kind to cats. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I ended up buying the kit with the 18-55 IS lens.
      I have a fair bit of EOS kit though, two 35mm bodies, two lenses, a 28-135 IS USM, a 28-200 IS USM (both heavy though) and a speedlite flash.
      It didn’t help working in a photographic shop for nearly twelve years.
      Tell Timmy only to pleased to help one of his type, it’s Jasp he needs to thank really, though I can’t see either actually shaking paws ๐Ÿ˜†

  4. Wow, congratulations on the camera. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have full sympathy for T as those screws can be a pain to undo if they’ve been in for a long time, with my luck most of them would have been rusted up or rounded off. Odd that the cat couldn’t get out the way it got in though, I assume the gap must have been big enough for it to get through in the first place.

    • Yes, T was non to impressed as four ended up with their head stripped off.
      T built the decking over the old patio, it extends further into the garden than the patio did, so underneath by the house the gap is about four inches, but where it extends over the garden, it’s at least two feet.
      The cat had obviously gone in at the bottom and crept up between the joists, but the width between them made it impossible for it to turn round to go back.
      I thought the sound of the drill would scare it into reversing, but it appeared it could only move forward.

      • Ah I see, thanks for that. BTW how do you find the decking, does it get very slippery in winter? Quite fancy some myself and would be cheaper (or rather quicker) to erect than a patio I think.

        • We love it.
          It needs to be maintained though, otherwise it would become lethal when wet.
          The previous two years, T has jet washed it prior to treating it with deck preserver. This year he found some algae remover, which has worked a treat.
          The only time ours has been slippery was when it was covered with ice ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
          T and a friend built it, I have some pics taken during the build, I’ll have to dig them out. ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Yes, to be fair though even a paved patio is pretty bad with ice on it. At least with the decking you could always screw some gripper strips on for winter use. (Those things that look like very coarse sandpaper that are non slip).

  5. Lucky escape for the black cat, lucky purchase for you, I’d say! I’ve been dreaming of a DSLR and thinking I’d chance second hand, now I wonder … I’ll be interested to see what you think of your new ‘toy’.

    • I’ve been so undecided for months now, but I’m glad I decided to buy the DSLR.
      I’m pleased with the results so far, and even though I’ve only been playing with it, I can definitely recommend one.

  6. It was worth a shot buying that second hand camera, sometimes a bargain is to be had. I wonder if the shop will put it back out for sale. Very lucky black cat. Kind of T to aid his escape but you didn’t have much choice. Hopefully it won’t venture there again. I loved the comment about the cats on the windowsill – cheeky buggers ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The shop offered me a different battery, so I guess they’d put it back for sale with that different battery.
      I haven’t seen either cat in the garden since, so hopefully it learnt it’s lesson…..and told it’s brother.

Leave a Reply

