Home » Remembrance Day » Will we ever learn?

Will we ever learn?

I have visited many of the Commonwealth War Grave cemeteries in France, Belgium and Holland, but the cemetery that left the biggest imprint on me was Tyne Cot in Belgium.
It is the final resting place of so many young men, cut short in the prime of their life by the greed of power hungry leaders.

Almost 12,000 bodies lie in this cemetery, I say bodies, because around 70% are unknown, someones husband, father, brother, son who never returned to home soil.

There is also a memorial wall, engraved with nearly 35,000 of the 90,000 names of the missing and those whose bodies were never found from the horrors of the Ypres Salient.

This Sunday November 11th is Remembrance Day. The video below is my tribute to these and all the other brave souls who gave, and are still giving their lives in vain.

12 thoughts on “Will we ever learn?

  1. I agree, it’s a terrible thing to mourn a person, knowing what, when and where, but to not know, and for so many, makes the it all the sadder. We do however sorrow for and remember all those who fought and lost their lives at war for our futures. I bought a poppy this morning… your beautiful tribute makes it closer and all the more personal. Excellent choice of music.

    • The horrors really strike home when you walk around these places.
      I compiled the video from mine and two other friends footage from our visit, the music was a unanimous choice.

  2. I’ve written a few war-related posts. This one on Clouds has the same sentiments to yours about ‘Will we ever learn’. Regardless of anyone’s political perspective, I think Tony Benn expressed it so eloquently – and sadly.

    http://cloudsmovingin.wordpress.com/2009/07/08/those-who-dont-know-history/

    And a couple of Armistice/Remembrance Day posts. I’ll probably break the roughseas holiday for Sunday, unless I do it on Clouds. Interestingly it is on a Sunday again. In Gib, they do it twice if the 11th doesn’t fall on Sunday. It’s taken seriously here, maybe because of the mil influence.

    http://roughseasinthemed.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/strange-meeting/

    http://roughseasinthemed.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/armistice-day/

    • I couldn’t open the video link yesterday, but just viewed it now, yes and excellent and extremely informative one.

      I can remember not so long ago, the actual 11/11 date passed without much notice apart from a few stalwarts who recognised it. More recently it has come to the forefront.
      Mainland Europe on the other hand, has always taken far more pride (if that’s the right word) in remembering such dates.

      • I think you are right, it had slipped into obscurity. I can’t comment on the UK obviously, but here in Gib it is always commemorated, I guess because of the strong military presence of previous years. Hoping to be there on Sunday.

    • Yes, a sad fact that there are no more WW1 veterans alive, the last one, a Florence Green died in February this year, just before her 111th birthday.
      Even more reason for the memory to be kept alive before it fades into history.

  3. I had decided when I uploaded this post, that I would remain silent to any comments, it would be my personal mark of respect……my two minutes silence if you like, but as I hadn’t notified anyone about my intentions, I realised it must have looked a tad rude to say the least, after all, I got some lovely replies and links.

    I have since written another two posts on the same subject, the final one I will post on Sunday 11th.
    That will now be my ‘silent post’.

    • I don’t think it matters if you don’t reply Vicky. It’s an emotive issue and we all deal with it differently. If you have your two minutes of silence on Sunday, I’m sure many of us will be with you.

Leave a Reply

