Home » Transport » Road » Land Rover » It’s got to be simple!

It’s got to be simple!

A bit of a silly statement where Land Rovers are concerned, and something I’m sure my friend, over at Just Land Rovers will agree with.

Yesterday, I noticed my brake/tail light wasn’t working, so, on arriving home, I grabbed a spare bulb ready to swop it with the faulty one. ‘Five minutes’ I thought, job done, go inside and get my dinner……….. ha!, that was a laugh……….

I need to get in there

My discovery has the side facing dickie seats in the back. No problem I thought, I’ll just pull the seat forward, and get in from behind.

still can’t get in

‘Oh no you won’t’, says Mr Land Rover designer, ‘This is a Land Rover, they are sent to test you’

still can’t get my hand in

There has to be an easier way………….hasn’t there?

Just a small screw held the cover on which I managed to remove, leaving an opening big enough to slip my hand into………… Yeah 🙂 !!

I couldn’t see where I was putting my hand, as the seat was blocking my vision, but I gingerly put it into the opening, and grabbing a bulb holder, I twisted it and pulled it out.

Ha Mr Land Rover! I said under my breath.

My excitement soon faded, as I checked the bulb, not only was it intact, but it was only a single filament type…………..I’d only gone and pulled out the indicator bulb 😦 Aarrgghh!!!!!

Replacing this bulb back into it’s socket I groped around in the opening searching for the brake light bulb (logically, it should be the next one up), my finger tips latched onto what felt like another bulb holder, but it wouldn’t move, perhaps it wasn’t. Thinking I’d better check first, before I remove something I shouldn’t, I grabbed my torch and shone it into the opening, but I couldn’t see where it was shining, or what I’d got hold of. Struggling, with torch in one hand, and almost doing a headstand in the back of my motor, I eventually saw I was holding the correct bulb.

I struggled for over half an hour to remove the bulb, I couldn’t get enough grip on it, and it wasn’t budging…………….. by which time it was getting dark, I was getting hungry, the dogs needed a walk…………..

dangerous work

………………and I’d acquired a nice bruise on my wrist.

I decided to leave it for another day 🙂

I stewed over the problem overnight, deciding the only way, was to remove the dickie seat, it looked like it needed a special allen key to undo the bolts 😦 which I didn’t think we had, but decided I’d face that problem as and when.

A lovely sunny day, so bright and early this morning I set about my second attempt to change the bulb.

After mentioning it to T, I was led to his secret stash of allen keys…………..and hey ho! one that fits too 🙂

these need unbolting

Just two bolts, which amazingly were very easy to undo.

seat unbolted

and the seat dropped forward.

easy to undo now

The cover, held on by a screw, came off in seconds.

I’m in at last

Leaving me plenty of room to put my hand into the opening. Within ten minutes, I’d removed the old bulb from the holder, and put a new one in.

I’m puzzled as to why there is a cross on the bulb holder, it’s not as though I could see it easily until I got access into the opening, and once inside, it is obvious which bulb it is. Perhaps it’s Mr Land Rovers joke……. ‘It’s here’ 😈

Putting it back together was simple, I replaced the cover, and bolted the dickie seat back into place…………..not before I’d checked to make sure the new bulb was working properly 😉

Feeling quite proud of myself, I had a bit of a chuckle…………

Wander amongst a group of Landy owners, and mention a tale like this, they’ll all shout in unison…………………….

IT’S A LAND ROVER THING!!!!!

11 thoughts on “It’s got to be simple!

  1. I can’t believe you did all this… and took photos too. I’m impressed, I’d have delegated the task the G.O. without even considering doing it myself 🙂

    • LOL 😆
      As soon as I started, I though, this is going to be a typical Land Rover problem (ie. it’s easy, but we’ll make it as difficult as we can) and it might make a good blog post, so I went to get my camera with the intention of doing one. 😀
      T doesn’t have much interest in motors, and even less in Land Rovers, so not much chance of delegating 😦

  2. I had to laugh at this. Sorry!! Especially pulling out the indicator bulb first 😀

    Loved your captions and the comments about making it as difficult a job as possible. I mean changing a brake light FFS!! Only LR would make it into a major job, but I suppose with the right tools it wasn’t.

    Did have a (long) convo with A last night about how LR have started putting more complicated fixings on Defs and Discos (no idea about RRs, FLs) necessitating an ever wider range of tools.

    ‘It’s just to stop normal people like us fixing our Landies,’ he said grumpily.

    Hello A! And in what sentence does ‘normal people’ and ‘landies’ realistically fit together?

    Excellent photos though. Really clear and very explicit. (Your language may have been that too at one point). Love your arrows. Much better than mine 😦

    Were T’s allen keys cycling ones? We’ve got so many different sets of tools I wouldn’t know where to even start looking to find the right one!

    Anyway. Well done. An extremely good post. I still haven’t added photos to my oil change post about the right socket to use and the wrong one because we’ve not had the camera near the Landy since then.

    • LOL.
      I thought this would cause a titter, though I think you have to be a Landy owner to appreciate the humour fully though.
      You liked my LR green arrows then? 😉

      Definitely right regarding the newer they are, the more complicated they’re becomming.
      My neighbour has a D3, she was telling me about the odd noises her handbrake makes (like it’s singing) and the flashing light on the dashboard ‘handbrake malfunction’………LOL I guess any handbrake that bursts into song would be classed as a malfunction. 😯

      Ha ha, yes normal people and landies don’t belong in the same sentence.
      The allen keys were in a jar, all shapes and sizes that he’s collected over the years, I’m a tad concerned about that………. ‘My husband and his allen key fetish’ 😮

  3. Modern cars for you! 🙂

    I had the same problem with my Mazda pickup a few weeks ago. The drivers side headlamp bulb failed at 4am, in the dark, just as I was setting off for work. I had a spare bulb but sadly you need to unbolt the washer reservoir bottle as that is fitted across the rear of the bulb holder. The washer bottle bolt was corroded in place so needed alot of brute force and swearing to free. I finally got the bulb changed and went to set off only to find that the washer jets no longer worked. Removing the reservoir had dislodged a connection on the pump which was sat on the bottom of the reservoir with no access for hands due to the battery being in the way so I had to remove the bottle again. At this point I found that the wire wasn’t just loose but so corroded it was a mass of verdi-gris and would not give a good connection. I had to clean it up and file the terminal. Over an hour to change a headlamp bulb that should take 5 minutes!

    • Just one big LOL!! 😆
      You’ve had me in total hysterics reading your comment?
      Glad to hear you got it fixed, and also that I’m not alone in what should be a simple bulb change.

      • Actually, it was even worse. I live in a very quiet rural village where any noise at that time of the morning tends to wake all the neighbours, I have a gravel drive and despite trying to be as quiet as possible the sound could probably still be heard on the other side of the village and to compound my issues the rest of the family were fast asleep while I had to go back indoors, turn all the lights on, get into the workshop to find the spanners etc. Then it was so dark outside on the drive that I was struggling to see and I was trying to avoid using a torch as the neighbours would then think I was stealing a car and call the police so in the end I had to drive to a nearby filling station and park under their lights in order to change the bulb. Why oh why do these things tend to fail at the most inconvenient times?

Leave a Reply

