Home » Photography » Black & White images » Anyone for cricket?

Anyone for cricket?

With all the gold medals Great Britain are winning in the Olympics recently, and quite a high percentage going to my home county of Yorkshire, it got me thinking about a gold medal won by my paternal grandfather.

Nothing as high ranking as an Olympic gold, but still a worthy medal in its own right.

Cricket, the bane of my childhood.

The endless Sundays when I was plonked in a deckchair after being dragged along to watch my dad play for some local team.

The fear, when I saw my dad collapse, after being hit in the face by a speeding cricket ball, and later being rushed to hospital, minus his teeth.

It never put him off the game. He played until age took its toll, then he continued to ‘play’ every test match that was televised.

He’d tell me about his days while in the army in India, when he’d played alongside the famous Denis Compton, who was also stationed out there.

In fact, my dad is probably still playing cricket in the wide blue yonder somewhere.

It was in his blood, or so he’d say (I obviously never got my dads blood), going back for generations.

Which brings me to my grandfather, his father.

In 1908 at the age of seventeen while playing for Hull 2nd he performed this amazing feat:

I’m not too knowledgeable on the game, but apparently this is quite an achievement.

In recognition of this he was presented with the ball he performed it with.

     

and an engraved gold medal.

My granddad, holding the ball, and wearing the medal.

A photo of the team. My granddad is front row second from the left.

When my dad died in 2000, my mum dug out the ball and medal from a drawer it had been hidden away in, and gave them to me.

I recognised the achievement, but not having any interest in cricket at all, I thought long and hard about what I should do with them.

It seemed such a shame, that something that had meant so much to my dad and granddad, would carry on being hidden away in a drawer in my home, also, looking into the future, who would I pass them on to, my two girls had no interest at all.

Suddenly I had an idea………so, first checking with my mum that dad would approve, I approached The Yorkshire County Cricket Club, to ask if they had a museum, and would they be interested in the items for a display.

I was a bit embarrassed to start with, approaching such a big concern, with something, that although happened in Yorkshire, wasn’t anything to do with the County club, but I needn’t have been.

They were at the time extending a museum area, and my offer was greatly accepted.

A few months later I received a handwritten note, and this photograph, explaining the items were now on display in a glass cabinet in the museum.

I hope my dad and grandfather would have approved of my action, but deep down I’m sure they do. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Anyone for cricket?

    • Thank you 🙂
      The sad thing is, I never knew him, he died before I was born.
      I’d like to think his achievement has brought some comments from those who’ve visited the display 🙂

  1. I hate boring old cricket. My parents used to go to matches but thankfully stopped when I was born. So I had to suffer it via TV. I never understood it, still don’t and have JSN interest in it. It’s as bad as golf. Methinks it is heresy to come form Yks and confess this 😀

    Exhibition case looks nice though.

      • There is something about golf and cricket with their unfathomable scoring and long slow boring play that appeals to people. I’m just not one of them. My dad didn’t play or go to golf matches but he would happily watch it on the television. It was a probably a substitute for when there was no cricket 24 hours a day 😀

  2. interesting post……have you read a book called england their england?……i cant remember the authors name but think it was macdonald…….there is a chapter describing a very funny cricket match in this book………

    • Thank you..
      Is there a funny side to cricket ? 😉 its always appeared so strict and straight laced to me.
      I’m not an avid book reader, but I think I need to look it up, perhaps it’ll help me see it in a different light 🙂

Leave a Reply

