Home » Photography » Did I speak too soon?

Did I speak too soon?

After reading Clouds recent blog on The politics of cycling, it started me thinking how nice it would be to dust the cobwebs off my bike again.

T is quite a regular cyclist, often going out for a 20-30 mile ride along the hilly lanes around our home. He’s got a racer, and the roads hold no fear for him, but it’s a different story for me. Mine is a mountain bike, I’d much prefer to be off the beaten track somewhere.

I have ridden on the road with him, in fact it was just after I got my bike. Not having ridden for, well I cant remember when, he suggested going for a short bike ride, so I’d ‘get the feel of it’. Thirteen miles later, (yes, that is THIRTEEN) I collapsed on the sofa, with jelly legs, and wondering if I’d ever see the light of day again. I survived, but needless to say, I chose the odd track on my own from that day on.

Anyway, Clouds had inspired me to want to go out on the roads again.

So as T is getting his bike out, I asked him how far he was going,

“Not far” he announced, “why?” he then continued to list the various villages he’d be passing through.

“Oh, I thought I might tag along with you”, I said, as I mentally clocked up the mileage. Realising it was going to be another marathon, as far as I was concerned, I continued “but I don’t think I’d manage that”

I had hoped he’d shorten his ride, but no chance, so off he went.

Fifteen minutes later my phone rings.

“Vic, I’ve had a puncture”

Now this is fate if it ever was. I had only been talking to a friend earlier about the fantastic slime inner tubes that he has in his wheels, and how, after continually getting punctures month after month prior to fitting these, he’d gone five years without one.

Anyway, he continues “Can you get my car out and come and pick me up please”

So first thought 😈 I grab my phone, there’s got to be a blog post here 😉 I head off down the country lanes and find him standing dejected, in a gateway.

 It’s a bit flat on the bottom 😉

Are you struggling?, sorry I can’t help you dear,  I’ve got to record this for my blog 😆

After checking his non puncturing tube for a puncture, he realised it had become slime free. Perhaps slime only has a five year shelf life, or perhaps it had evaporated in the heat.

Popping down to the local Halfords for a new inner tube, Sal and Jasp decided to help with the repair.

A short while later, and he’s off!!

On a much shorter ride………………Now, if I’d gone with him in the first place…………….. 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 thoughts on “Did I speak too soon?

  1. Oh how familiar this sounds! We’ve just had Kevin … G’s son here visiting from Quebec for five days. He’s an avid cyclist, so he’d brought his bike. He’s been here several times before, so he knows where he likes to go. First time: phone rings about two and a half hour after he left for exactly the same reason as T. Second time went okay. Third time, phone rings again. Pffft… I’m not into this myself at all, but my brother was …. until he had a terrible accident in a race. He used to bike 500 kilometres per week [I can’t handle the mile system].

  2. LS and Jasp aren’t helping at all! LS isn’t interested and Jasp is definitely laughing.

    T looks exactly like A 😀 Skinny muscly legs (actually A’s are skinnier due to polio), glasses on while changing inner tube, grey/white short hair, even down to the white T-shirt and same shorts!!

    He doesn’t wear gloves though???? A won’t cycle without them. I thought he was going to have a nervous breakdown when he thought he had lost a pair here in Gib but as usual he’d hidden them somewhere silly. In his case hiders do not make the best finders. Luckily I put off buying a new pair until he had found them 🙂

    Silly old slime. I wonder if ours has rotted away? Certainly spare inner tubes do. I suppose he didn’t have a spare with him because he had that wonderful slime (ha-ti-ha).

    So you didn’t get to go out in the end?

    • LOL, Jasp does look like he’s laughing.

      Yeah, I’ve thought exactly the same when I’ve seen pics of A, in fact, didn’t you post a very similar one once, of A repairing one of your finds?

      No, he doesn’t wear gloves, very silly, as once when he off came off his knuckles copped it. He’s only been wearing a helmet for about a year, after constant pressure from the girls and me, but as you say, poco a poco.

      Spare tube? With invincible slime ones 😉 he didn’t even have a spare in the house, never mind carry one with him, he doesn’t believe in buying things until he needs them 😆

      • Early bike pix he wouldn’t have been wearing glasses, he only got them on coming to Gib. Not sure what I’ve posted recently!!

        We got the gloves – with gel – for the impact on your hands when riding rather than planning to come off! They are well worth it too. But I like the padded arse shorts too, not specifically for that but I don’t have baggy shorts flopping around. Not that it affects A (who also has some ‘proper’ kit) and T when cycling in baggy shorts 😀

        We actually started off using our old UK helmets which were round and made us look like centurions! Figured it was time for a change and thought things had moved on safety wise as they didn’t seem too secure. Bought some Spuik ones, Spanish firm that does some decent stuff. Noticed a bike/motorbike shop in Gib that has some rather nice Italian ones so they may get a purchase at some point. We used to cart the helmets backwards and forwards but easier to have two at each place, and on the rare occasions people come to see us (OK by which I mean our landy mate Andy) we have enough bikes and helmets to go round 🙂

        Reb’s comment reminded me of a colleague at work who was a brilliant cyclist. He did the cycle through Africa for charity sort of stuff. He also rode without a helmet and one night taking the path through the park in the dark, he came off. Obviously hit something on the track and going at 100mph (or whatever) he took a hammering. It was serious touch and go coma stuff. When he came round, even our boss went to see him and he was known for not being people ie staff friendly.

        The cyclist was a really sharp bloke, very acid dry sense of humour (so yes I got on well with him) and when he came back to work he was noticeably slower, in speech and thinking. Yet with time, ie months and months, things slowly improved. A bit like my Spanish neighbour’s son (the one in the photo) who came off his bike with horrific facial injuries – but not bad-looking again now, I think? To me (as a crap cyclist), helmets are just sensible, and for those who cycle faster (like my colleague) probably even more essential given the speed, impact, maths equation ratio.

        I had another look and see that T doesn’t have one of those dinky little under saddle pouchy things. Mine carries an inner tube, my passport, a couple of euros in case I need to get the bus back and put the bike in the luggage compartment, and my passport. My mobile goes in the back pocket in my vest, so I can pull it out with my left hand and still cycle – in theory. The other two pockets are full of tissues for when I get hay fever 😀

        • One of the first things I bought were gloves, with the gel, recommendation from both my girls. I dug out an old helmet, but it was so uncomfortable, that was also a new purchase, I also invested in some padded shorts (baggy MB ones), that was a must after the state of my derriere following the thirteen mile marathon. I’m a bit ‘all the gear, no idea’ as the girls would say 😆

          I’m so pleased both my girls are so safety conscious, knee pads, elbow pads etc. but some of the stuff they do is quite scary. Only last year Deb came off over the handlebars, grabbed a nearby tree, slid down landing on her bike and the seat adjuster lever went into her thigh. I got a call from her ‘I’m in Stafford hospital, can you come and get me please, oh, and my car and my bike’ 😮

          • I think that’s a great description and I’m sure D&S would say exactly the same about me.

            Yes, some of the serious mountain biking stuff is pretty er adventurous. Not for oldies like us who want to potter through pretty tracks 🙂 My idea of adventure is managing to cycle up and down the steep banks of the local streams. 😀

            What is funny about the gear though is that road cyclists are noticeably more friendly when you wear it, even if you are on a mountain bike.

  3. Glad to see people cycling, carbon friendly transport!! I seem to have been fortunate in the puncture department only ever getting slow ones. Last time I serviced my bike I did put the exact same slimy tubes on as double insurance.

    Roughseas talks about oldies like us, well there was an octagenarian who died abseiling. What a way to go, much better than quietly in your sleep.

    • Lol, it started off as carbon friendly, but having to pick him up in his car changed that 😳

      I’ve never tried abseiling, though it is something I’d have a go at, given the chance.
      Yes, got to agree, a good way to depart this world.

  4. oh the fun of cycling. am almost inspired to get myself a bike again….. and a helmet, too. the last time i rode a bike, helmets weren’t mandatory yet – whether for bicycles or motorcycles. can’t believe how long ago that has been. i’d best stop now before i date myself 🙂

    • LOL. I know exactly what you mean.
      I do think compulsory helmet wearing is one of the better laws to be brought in, though it’s still not law for cycling in the UK, more’s the shame.

Leave a Reply

