Home » Gloucestershire » Bourton on the Water » Glorious Gloucestershire

Glorious Gloucestershire

Since returning from our wonderful week in Whitby, our weekly wanderings seemed to have come to a standstill, this hadn’t been helped by the fact we’d had almost constant rain again.

But today was dry, with a promise of it staying dry. So we ‘Seized the Day’ as the saying goes, and set off for……………….The Snowshill Lavender Farm πŸ™‚

I guess, if we’d planned this trip in advance, we could have found a bus or two and used our bus passes, but as it was very much a spur of the moment, and we wanted to get there the same day, we set off in T’s Yaris.

Driving there through the country lanes, we both commented on how green everywhere was, it certainly was Englands’ green and pleasant land, though probably a bit too green for me. Green grass…….green crops……….. green trees……….. green hedges………. Never mind I thought, probably no butterflies or bees today, but there should be a wonderful splash of colour from the lavender fields.

We continued along the road, rounded the bend, to see………………Huh!!……………..green lavender!! We slowed down to peer over the stone walls, yes, they were definitely lavender plants, but nothing like the vibrant lavender colour I was expecting.

Now, if I’d had the sense to look at the dates on my previous lavender pics, before we set off, I’d have realised, we were a month too early (note to self, visit lavender fields end of July).

It must have been fate we went in the car, I can just imagine arriving in Snowshill by bus (which probably aren’t very frequent), spending an hour or so looking at green lavender, while we wait for the bus to go home again.

Anyway, Stow on the Wold was only ten miles away, so we turned the car around and set off for this picturesque little market town. Like most of the towns in this part of the country, the buildings are all made from the beautiful mellow Cotswold Stone, some of them dating back to the 16th century, even the new builds are in keeping with the old.

Walking up one of the streets in Stow, it was obvious they’d celebrated the recent Jubilee in style.

More flags flying in another little street in Stow.

The village green, with the old stocks still in place.

After wandering around for a while, we called into one of the many local tea shops, had a coffee, and discussed where to go next. My favourite Cotswold village was only a mile down the road, it was the obvious choice, so we went back to the car, and set off for Bourton on the Water.

Bourton is to me, is one of the prettiest towns in the Cotswolds, and another built from the local stone. Running alongside the main street, the river Windrush, meanders through the town, eventually joining the river Thames at Newbridge.

Looking across the river Windrush towards the main street, stone footpaths straddle the river all through the town.

Turning round and looking back to the two bridges of the previous photograph.

Continuing further along towards another bridge. The Motor Museum in the distance houses many memories of past motors.

A river resident.

The river was flowing quite fast today, and the ducks were quite comical as they travelled at great speed downstream, as though in some sort of race.

This town also has a replica model village of itself, built in Cotswold stone, that can be walked round. I have photos somewhere from past visits, but this site is well worth having a look at.

After spending around an hour wandering around this town, we headed back to the car and home.

No lavender pics this time, but a great day out all the same………..and lavender?……… marked on the calendar for July/August visit.

12 thoughts on “Glorious Gloucestershire

  1. Funny, but just today I thought I’d like to visit the lavender fields and wondered if they were blooming yet. Instead, I’ll mark my calendar for late July, too. πŸ™‚ Lovely pictures and venues. Too bad about too much green, but it sounds like the day was a success in the end.

    • Yes, I’d definitely wait until the end of July, the plants were totally green, obviously crying out for some sunshine.
      Next time I’m there, I’ll keep my eyes open for a couple, carrying a satnav and drinking cider πŸ˜‰
      I guess you’ve probably visited both villages already, but certainly worth it if not. πŸ™‚
      Even past visits in the rain, Bourton looks bright and cheerful, which I put down to the Cotswold stone. πŸ™‚

      • I enjoyed my visit to Bourton in February, but would like to go back during different seasons. As for Stow, I’ve passed through a couple times, but never explored the town. It’s on my list of towns to visit. Until then, I live vicariously…

  2. What beautiful pictures of these quaint little towns …they really conveyed the atmosphere, I loved the first street picture!
    I don’t mind green, and especially not after this Autumn/Winter/Spring we had — I love winter, but I want it WHITE … we had grey-ish/brown for months and months…

    • Thank you, there really are some beautiful places in the Cotswolds, and as I mentioned above, the Cotswold stone always makes them look bright and cheerful.
      I definitely agree, the green is certainly an improvement on the drab grey/browns of our recent winter, which like you, I’d have preferred to see white

  3. Afraid I am with reb, is it possible to have too much green? My recent little trip showed the glorious countryside as a patchwork of varying shades of green, … stunning.

    Two of my favourite places Stow on the Wold and West Stow!

    Thanks for sharing the stunning pics. πŸ˜‰

  4. When we visited the Cotswolds I found them too pretty – everywhere seemed to be like a model village. I guess that comes from being brought up in t’ mill towns o’ t’ West Riding.

    I like the first picture too though. It reminds me of Gib Main Street except the architecture (and the stone) are totally different. The similarities being narrow, old-fashioned, and lots of bunting and flags.

Leave a Reply

