Home » Walks » Cleveland Way » A week in Whitby – day six

A week in Whitby – day six

FRIDAY 25th MAY

After the previous two days, of opening the blinds to be greeted by a swirling grey mist, I hadn’t been in any hurry, to look outside. T had got up, put the kettle and made a morning cuppa, before I’d even opened my eyes.

“You not getting up today fossil” he asks, as he passes me my tea, “there’s blue sky everywhere out there”

What!!!!, I reached up and opened the blinds, and looked out of the window,WOW! I could see the horizon, the sky was blue, the sea was blue, and sunlight glistened from its surface. What an absolutely perfect day ๐Ÿ™‚

Needless to say, the bedding was put away in double quick time, and every window was opened fully.

Sal and Jasp had their breakfast outside, as they had done all week, but this time so did we, our ‘neighbours’ had moved on earlier in the week, and our van was the only one on that part of the site. We sat there long after we’d finished eating, in total silence, just ‘looking’ at nothing in particular.

“Do you fancy doing anything today then” T broke my daydream…….

“err, no, not really, I’m quite happy staying put, and I’m sure Jasp would appreciate a rest too”

Sal & Jasp still needed a walk, and I wanted to go into Whitby to get a few more photos, so we decided, a slow walk along the cliff top to the Abbey, T would stay up at the top with the dogs, while I walked down the Donkey road into the town with my camera.

‘Give me a call if you’re going to be longer than an hour, and I’ll start slowly back” he shouted after me as I set off down the hill.

Whitby is a photographers dream, and it wasn’t long before I’d started snapping away.

This is about halfway down Donkey Road, with the harbour just visible in the distance.

Turning round and looking back up towards the top, the raised sections of cobbles across the road become more noticeable, which give more traction while going up or down.

It was up Donkey Road in January 1881, that the Whitby lifeboat was hauled to top, before continuing to Robin Hoods Bay to the rescue of the brig ‘Visitor” see A week in Whitby Day Three post.

A plaque at the bottom.

I wandered around taking many photographs, before phoning T to tell him I was on my way back up.

This time I decided to walk up Caedmon’s Trod, where we’d attempted to get Jasper up on Day Two. A beautiful view of the town, but I’m pleased we turned back with Jasper when we did that day, as he would never have got to the top.

I found T and the dogs, waiting for me in the grounds of St Marys’ church, where I took this view over the harbour.

I took a further shot of the Abbey, before we set off back along the coast path.

A wreck of the trawler Admiral Von Tromp, which foundered on the rocks in October 1976, is easily visible from the cliff top as the tide recedes. More info for anyone interested can be read here

A view of the site, as we walked back. Our motorhome is the one at the far left on the cliff top.

This day was a very lazy day, were we just enjoyed the sun and the scenery.

Curry again? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ yeah, why not, we’re on holiday ๐Ÿ˜‰

6 thoughts on “A week in Whitby – day six

  1. I’m impressed with the free curry service, well, free delivery of meals in general.

    What a lovely feeling of space in those pics. Love the harbour shot and the wreck one.

    The camp site looks to be in an idyllic spot – what a lucky find ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, so were we when the site receptionist told us, T did have to walk down to the main entrance though ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Brilliant site, as soon as we saw it we had good vibes about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. ditto on the remarks above! your camping spot is perfect.
     
    i also like all the red tiled rooftops. not such a common site in my corner of the planet, although houses built in the last dozen years or so seem to have them more. before that, most rooftops were of the asphalt variety. (Wikipedia has a post on roof shingle in case you would like to check it out.)
     
    it is also amazing how different the abbey looks in sunshine to contrast the fog (sea fret) of the other day. never heard the term sea fret before reading your blog, by the way.
     
    thanks for sharing your adventures. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The roof tiles are what I like about all the quaint little villages along that coast too ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for the wiki link, I’ll check it out in a bit.
      I went to night class for oil painting, when I lived in Leeds, Whitby Abbey in a sunset was one of the ones I TRIED to paint, it is an amazing building.

  3. Excellent post, I really enjoyed reading it. My partner Shirl and I love Whitby and it is our little ‘retreat’ – where we go just to be alone and spend some rare ‘alone’ moments with each other, minus the grandkids and the rest of the family.

    • Thank you for passing by and for your kind comments.
      Yes, Whitby really is a lovely place, I can understand why you and Shirl like to escape there ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

