Home » Transport » Road » Bus Travel » The return of the raindrops

The return of the raindrops

I was dreaming in the early hours, that there was rain beating on the window, I woke up, and the dream didn’t stop. Second thoughts, perhaps I was dreaming in a dream, so I was still a dream away from reality.

Hhmmmm, the reality of it all, was that when I pulled the curtains back this morning, the raindrops were there again ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

T and I started to discuss what Worcester must be like with all the rain we’ve had recently. Worcester stands on the River Severn, the source of which starts in Wales, is 220 miles long, and can be a very destructive when in flood.

“Shall we pop over on the bus, I can take a few pics for my blog” I said, I look at him shaking his head. “OK I’ll go on my own then”

As T has named himself the bus maestro, I didn’t want to make his head any bigger, by checking with his timetable brain, so I proceeded to check the bus timetable on the internet, by which time I realised I had missed the 350, a rather infrequent but direct to Worcester bus that I could catch ten minutes walk away ๐Ÿ™„ I started to look at alternatives. 55 into town, X3 to Bromsgrove (yes, this is the X3 of Kidderminster fame that calls in at Bromsgrove) then the 144 to Worcester.

Walking downstairs, T asks “you going then?” YES! “do you know what buses you need?” YES! “which way you going then?” He was probably expecting me to say the 350, but I pulled my piece of paper out of my pocket, and read off the buses, and the connecting times ๐Ÿ˜† “Oooooh” he says in disbelief “you’ll be as good as me soon”

Keeping my fingers crossed that all connections went smoothly, as there was only about five minutes leeway between each one, I set off. My precision planning had worked like clockwork, there was no demented running anywhere, and I walked sedately from one bus to the next.

I arrived in Worcester (20 miles away) ninety minutes after leaving home. Yeah, OK, I know I could probably have got to London in that time, in fact I could have flown to Paris in an hour, but Hey! I’m time rich, and the journey was free ๐Ÿ™‚

I made my way down to the river bank. Well, the Severn certainly had a bit more water in it than the Avon did yesterday, to say it was a bit full is an understatement, though I have seen it higher in July 2007 (must dig a few pics out). I took my Canon Ixus out of my pocket, and dodging raindrops (it does this better than my other bigger camera) proceeded to take the following shots.

I didn’t think I’d manage a walk along the riverside today…….

………though Mr Swan did

A slightly different take on things compared to this blog post

Down a few steps and under the Watergate archway and you are on the riverside walk. Not today though, the gate was firmly bolted, just in case anyone might be daft enough to try.

Just on the left, once through the arch, are plaques, engraved with various river heights when in flood, some interesting info and photos can be viewed here. The highest flood waters filled this archway in 1770, the plaque for 2007 is not too far below it.

Once I’d taken all the pics I wanted, I wandered back into the bus station, checking my list of bus times, I didn’t have too long to wait for the 350 back home. ๐Ÿ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “The return of the raindrops

  1. thanks for sharing your rainy adventure! that water is rather high!
     
    i was trying to imagine you walking sedately from bus stop to bus stop, and had to think of how you were running the otherday like truant school children ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, the water is high, It’s quite scary when you start to realise how much extra water is in the river, and how quickly it all happens.

  2. Brilliant, really made me laugh (out loud) too after last night’s annoyances. Too funny the prelude about the buses and the timetables. And as P&K said, you walking sedately instead of the previous running episodes is just as funny did you have a smug smile?

    Love the flood pix they are brill, really good. They so moody and atmospheric, just oozing wetness. Mr Swan looks like he is wearing waders with those huge webbed feet. And the ones with them sticking their necks out is ace too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the smile.

    • Glad it cheered you up ๐Ÿ™‚

      ๐Ÿ˜† yes, I felt very smug, it’s great when a plan comes together ๐Ÿ™‚
      Oozing wetness, ha! That would be me too, lol

      • What with this post and Jasp & LS sorting things out you really sorted things out for us (maybe literally). Nice work there. Anyway, I forgot to say I am a T clone, I am such a know-it-all about bus times, I could so imagine the positions being reversed and me saying, patronisingly to A, do you know where and when you are going?

Leave a Reply

