Home » Worcestershire » Malvern » Great Malvern station » Hurry to Hereford

Hurry to Hereford

“Hurry up T” I shouted at him, as he’s sat at the table doing his daily Sudoku, “if we are catching the train to Hereford, we need to get going”

Since Mr Beeching decided he didn’t want trains going any further south through our town station, any rail journeys we make have to be either via Birmingham, or a car journey of eight miles to Bromsgrove.

Arriving at Bromsgrove, with a good ten minutes to purchase our tickets from the machine, the tannoy voice announces a delay of fifteen minutes, Oh dear, a twenty five minute wait.

“I COULD have finished my puzzle” T shouts, as he fumbles to put his specs on to read the machine.

Being clever and with eyesight not quite as bad as his, I boldly press the button marked Hereford, stating “Look, it’s there” T continues with the purchase, and out pops his ticket, Yes, that is ticket as in a singular ticket, I’d pressed the button for a single journey not a return 😳 I proceeded to purchase my ticket, making sure I pressed return this time.

This wasn’t a good start to the day, leaving home too early, train delayed and the purchase of a single at £5.40 instead of a return costing £5.50. Luckily once on the train, the guard was very understanding of the poor pensioners’ eyesight and issued him a return for an extra 10p. 😉

We made our way towards the cathedral, quite an imposing building, where I took a few photos, photography wasn’t allowed inside without a permit, so the stunning stained glass windows, will have to be imagined.

A short walk down a narrow street, which claims to be where Nell Gwynne (I thought she was famous for oranges, but T kept going on about melons) was born. I was always led to believe she was born in London, but on checking the internet once home, I found three cities claim to be her birthplace, Oxford being the third. So it’s anyones guess.

Over the old river bridge, which is parallel to the new bypass bridge, we walked down along the river, up over an old rail bridge, back along the other bank, and into the town.

We called into the museum, which held the history of Hereford from prehistoric days. On the main wall up the stairs, was an amazing mosaic floor from the Roman town of Magnis (Kenchester). Sorry again no photographs allowed.

Eventually we made our way back to the station for the train to Bromsgrove.

Passing through the two Malvern stations, I asked T why a small town like Malvern had two stations. A mind of information, he announced that in Victorian days, when the wealthy came to Malvern to take the waters, Great Malvern station was for those who could afford to stay at the Imperial Hotel, which was next to the station, or make their way up the tree-lined avenue to one of the other town centre hotels. Malvern Link was for the rest of the riffraff.

This photo was taken from the train as we waited at Great Malvern station. The very ornate Victorian station.

On arrival at Bromsgrove, the heavens opened, so me being the kind person I am, walked the 5 minutes to get the car, while T sheltered in the station…….hmmmm, something wrong there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few more pics here

7 thoughts on “Hurry to Hereford

  1. I love that pic of the Nell Gwynne street just disappearing around the bend…… And the Victorian station is just beautiful. Victorian stations must be one of the best aspects of architecture of that period, I hate it when they are even remotely tampered with. I don’t know when the one in Málaga was built but they absolutely demolished it to put in some crap new stuff 😦 Grumpy K.

    Why are there no photos allowed? Is that a light/flash thing or just general PITA ness?

    I think I have seen more of your part of the country via your blog than I have done in real life now!!

    • I’m not sure on the reason about taking photographs, I visited Hereford cathedral when I did a building module for my course and had to pay for a photographers permit then. I have pics of the windows on slide somewhere, I’ll have to dig them out. The museum said strictly no photographs, so i didnt even bother asking. When we went to Worcester museum they didn’t have any signs, but I asked, out of politeness, and had to sign a deceleration stating I wouldn’t use them for personal gain.

  2. Pingback: A day without (T)rain « Vics Pics and More

  3. I recognise all these views except the carbuncle next to the museum and library. The bottom end of Broad Street looked very different in my day. The Cathedral and Close were opposite and on the street corner a few floors up were the offices of Thompson & Wood, Accountants, where my mother worked as a wages clerk. It later moved and became Little & Co. The Old House (the B&W half-timbered building still looks the same, thank goodness, and the Post Office used to be behind it. There was also a bigger PO opposite the museum but I think it closed. Barclays, bless their cotton socks, had 2 branches along that street and I think the Green Dragon hotel was there too. Oh, this is so nostalgic.

    • I’m pleased I managed to bring a few memories flooding back 🙂
      Next time we go to Hereford, I’ll have you in mind and try to get more photos.

Leave a Reply

