Home » Clouds » Was that thunder?

Was that thunder?

With so much rain of late, it was lovely to wake this morning with the sun streaming through the windows.

After being away for a couple of days, I’d missed walking my dogs, so was looking forward to a stroll around the local park, I armed myself with my camera and we set off. The light was amazing, it was so clear, everything look vibrant and alive.

The simple, much hated dandelion looked stunning, as did the humble daisy, so I started snapping away with my camera.

Blossom in the sunshine, blue skies up above and Jasper.

We walked further round the park, stopped to listen to the woodpecker, watched the squirrels chasing each other across the branches. This is what retirement is about πŸ™‚

Could it really last?

Huh, what was that? a rumble in the distance, was that thunder? The sun disappears, the sky is getting dark, so we make a dash back home.

Within five minutes of walking through the front door, the heavens open.

Hailstones on the garden furniture.

We’d just got back in time from what could have been a very painful walk.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “Was that thunder?

  1. your weather seems similar to ours! a couple of weeks ago the weather fluctuated between sunshine and hail, too, while visiting at my niece’s. the hailstones were not very large and her boys (ages 4 and 2) ran out as soon as they could get their snow gear on – they loved it!
     
    good timing on your return home, though. looks like you got quite a dump!

    • Blackthorn? Ah, thank you, I’m not too knowledgable on what it was.
      All the main through roads in the town where I live are edged with with it. An amazing sight which often looks like snow on the trees πŸ™‚

      • I think so, later in the year there should be some lovely sloes for putting in gin! Half bottle of gin in a full bottle, if you see what I mean, four ounces of sugar, or a bit less, fill to the top with sloes leave three months, strain and enjoy!

        (I think its better left for a couple of months before drinking but that’s just me) πŸ˜‰

        • That sounds interesting, though I’m not really fond of spirits. Oh I tell a lie there, there’s one exception, Islay single malt. I hated whisky until that trip. Hmmm, I feel another post brewing πŸ™‚

    • πŸ˜†
      My brain went into overdrive last night πŸ˜‰ The old Hornsea pics I wanted to follow on from the Brid post, but I also wanted to post yesterdays’ weather one yesterday. I notice I almost made it as it was midnight when it published here πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

