Home » Warwickshire » Stratford on Avon » Clopton Bridge » Stagecoach to Stratford

Stagecoach to Stratford

Yesterday was Mothers day here in the UK, and having two lovely daughter, I was taken out and wined beer’d and dined at Bella Italia in Stratford on Avon.

Deb, Louis & Shell at Bella Italia

I was also bought a pair of slippers and a CD. When we got home I noticed my slippers had a split in them, so it meant another trip to Stratford to exchange them. I then had an amazing idea ๐Ÿ’ก I’ll get the stagecoach ๐Ÿ˜Ž

So after ‘Woosh’ing to Worcester last week, it was the Stagecoach to Stratford today, this all sounds very Dick Turpin, highwayman style, but thankfully we weren’t held up, well, only by the red of the traffic lights ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Stagecoach bus company

This is the Stagecoach with Bella Italia in the background (what a convenient place to stop, as I hadn’t taken a photo yesterday)

I exchanged my slippers, then, having and hour to kill for my return stagecoach, I decided to wander amongst the rest of the tourists and take a few pics (yes, you’ve guessed, no camera again).

The Garrick Inn

The Garrick Inn a building dating from 1400’s. Shame about the car in front, but this was a whirlwind photo shoot and I didn’t have time to linger.

The Royal Shakespeare Theatre

The recently modernised Royal Shakespeare Theatre on the banks of the River Avon.

Clopton Bridge

Clopton Bridge, another ancient piece of history, built in 1480.

The canal basin

The Stratford on Avon canal basin, where the canal meets the River Avon.

Shakespeares' birthplace

The birthplace of William Shakespeare, there are always hoards of folk outside with cameras.

With that I just had enough time to get back to the stagecoach stop ready for my return trip.

9 thoughts on “Stagecoach to Stratford

  1. Hi Vicky, it is actually me of pix & kardz. But WordPress has recently implemented some improvements – with good intentions and very likely for all the right reasons – but what that means is that pix & kardz is unable to leave comments via my smart phone. Maybe my phone is not so smart after all?
     
    Thanks for sharing this unique excursion. It always fascinates me to see arcitecture from the same century that the first explorers from the other side of the Atlantic were discovering the continent I call home.
     
    And all these places with an affinity to Shakespeare. Glad you had your phone with you. Thanks for sharing. And that is it for me for a while. Talk soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ah, that probably explains why I had been logged out on my computer then. Must try a post from my phone to see if it’s affected mine too.
      Glad yo enjoyed the whirlwind tour of Stratford, enjoy your break. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Slippers?!!!!! Very Grandma image Vicky ๐Ÿ˜€

    Are they for the MH?? (It being MH day tomorrow yes?)

    I’m sure I have/had a jigsaw (yes I had a lot) of that theatre and it looked the same. The trees were in bloom though. Think I even went there from school. You know the thing, an endless boring coach tour down the endless boring motorways to watch an endless boring Shakespeare play that you might as well have seen in Leeds, but you had to say you had been to Stratford to watch it ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Ha ha, got to keep my feet warm in this cold country. they’re not too granny looking though (linked the word slippers now)
      Yes it is MH day tomorrow, piccies will follow ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lovely pics reminds me of my daughter forcing me to go to Stratford to watch a play, wasn’t even one I’d heard of. Think it was by the bards brother Sid. Still, we did have a great day and your photographs brought it all flooding back.

    Where are you off to next with the free bus pass?

    • A trip to visit my mum in Yorkshire via public buses ;-), think that would be an expedition though, not a trip ๐Ÿ˜†
      If we didn’t have the dogs, I’d like to give it a try though, just for the hell of it ๐Ÿ™‚

      • My MIL is from Leeds originally, only been once, wouldn’t fancy the entire trip by bus though. We once went from London to Manchester on a bus (National Express) it was christmas eve, the heating had packed up and there was ice on the inside of the windows all the way there. It wasn’t the dark ages either, about 1981 I would guess. 5 hours of being frozen in the seat brrrrrrrrr.

        Of course public buses would probably take about 4 days. Be a crazy fun thing though

  4. Pingback: Another day, another stagecoach. « Vics Pics and More

Leave a Reply

