Home » Paintings » A tribute to my Uncle Gerald…………a very talented man.

A tribute to my Uncle Gerald…………a very talented man.

This week my younger daughter Debs and I travelled to Yorkshire, picked up my mum en route to attend my Uncles’ funeral. A lovely man aged 90, who’d lived an extremely full & very active life. There were a few tears, but mostly we talked about him with smiles on our faces, knowing he was now happy, at peace and re-united with his beloved wife.

He was a VERY talented artist in every aspect, ranging from his lifelong job as a designer, to his passion for watercolour & pastel painting and eventually, when his eyesight started to fade, turning his hands to wood carving.

He was commissioned by many people to paint, cats, dogs, people, landscapes, in fact he excelled at every challenge, here are a few photos of some of his work:

This is my elder daughter, aged about 3, painted from a photograph.

Scarborough, Yorkshire.

Cliffords Tower York.

Beverley Minster. Yorkshire.

Filey Bay, Yorkshire.

Bridlington Old Town. Yorkshire.

Bridlington, Yorkshire.

Bridlington Lifeboat.

Rudston Church & Monolith. Yorkshire.

Bonhomme Richard

Flamborough Head. Yorkshire.

Whitby, Yorkshire.

16 thoughts on “A tribute to my Uncle Gerald…………a very talented man.

  1. Wordless of gibraltar here.

    What absolute treasures. I’m not sure what are my favourites – Brid Old Town maybe, always loved the old town. Or maybe Rudston, lovely memories of there too, or perhaps Brid lifeboat? But the one of the harbour at Brid? Where is the Pier Buffet – was it not even built?? I have a photo I must blog about Brid 🙂 wish I had more.

    The portrait of Shell is lovely, I’m not into portraits but that is so evocative.

    Hope it went as well as these things do. Those are lovely images to post, thanks for sharing some personal pix, that brought back lots of memories for me 🙂

    • I thought they’d stir a few memories for you 🙂
      He had such an amazing talent, I’d love to be able to paint/draw like that.
      He’d left all his painting to my mum, but she only took a few, and left the rest for a charity auction my cousin wants to do.

  2. what an incredible talent. this artwork makes me want to visit England with a bit more time than i had in my previous – and so far only – visit which was a three day stop in London while enroute to Germany. Even that was but a taste, and there are so many beautiful places to see.
     
    really enjoyed the mood here of Filey Bay.
     
    thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Baby roughseas in the north sea « Every picture tells one

  4. Hi Vicky,
    My name is Valerie and we are actually some how distantly related. I Love your tribute here to Uncle Gerald. I got to meet him briefly when I was 10 and he did a portrait of me from a photo when I was 3. We had a great time on our visit and I wish so much that I had known him better or even you for that matter. My mum is from England and is a Turner related to Aunty Barbara. Thank you for posting these! We wish we could have attended the funeral.
    Valerie Farr

    • Hi Valerie,
      Thank you, I’m glad you like my tribute 🙂 it’s such a small world eh? I guess from your comment you are outside the UK, so it’s lovely that my blog post has linked you to happy memories of Uncle Gerald 🙂
      Vicky

  5. Pingback: Vics Pics and More

  6. Hi Vicky,
    I LOVE these pictures….i have lived in Rudston all my life, my dad bought Westgate farmhouse (now The Olde Farmhouse) on Eastgate….we have been there 37 years….I really want the picture of the church and Bridlington Bay…is there anywhere where I can buy a print of these pls?
    Thanks
    Alison

    • Hi Alison,
      Thank you for your kind comments, you certainly live in a beautiful part of the UK.
      I’m unsure whether my uncle ever had any prints done of the paintings you mention, so I’m afraid I wouldn’t know which direction to point you in.
      If it is of any help to you in trying to track any down, his name was Gerald Overton and he lived in Bridlington.
      Sorry I can’t be any more help.
      Good luck,
      Vicky

  7. Hi Vicky, My niece Valerie told me about this blog soon after Uncle Gerald died and I’ve been too busy since to really give it my full attention. It is a wonderful tribute to him, and I am finding all your other posts fascinating (and some very sad of course). Can we get in touch via email? My husband and I will be in England from June 16th to June 25th (sorry for the short notice) and I am finally working on a plan for a quick trip around my birth country (last visit 1999 – born in Nottingham – but lived in NZ since 1970). As Valerie said, we are sort of related – though she was talking to you from Florida, USA.

Leave a Reply

