Home » Photography » Black & White images » A Black & White view of life

A Black & White view of life

I mentioned on an earlier post about my fascination with the Birmingham canal network, so as promised I decided to clamber into my loft and dig out some of the Black & White photos from 1997.

I don’t know if it’s the subject in question, or the fact that being in black & white it echos the photographic era when the canals were a thriving workplace,  but personally I think it works far better.

These photos may not be everyones cup of tea, to me it’s Britains industrial heritage.

This is the same section of wall from my earlier post. Yes, I had to run my fingers along the grooves then too 😳

A  bridge over the canal, even then restoration had started on the towpaths, see bottom right.

A lock gate, plenty of the old brickwork there still.

These iron strips were strategically placed so the boots of the boaters could get a grip on the slippery stone.

Under a bridge looking towards another lock gate.

The old cobbled towpath. This is the character that has been lost since the restoration.

This is probably my favourite from my canal photos. The old cobbled towpath in all its glory leading up to a lock gate, to me gives an erie feel in black & white that is somewhat lost in colour.

A closer view of the cobbled tow path above. The wear & tear from years of people & horses becomes really visible.

These cobbles remind me of loaves of bread 🙂

This was a very creepy place, above is Birmingham Snow Hill station.

Heading out of Birmingham towards Worcester is a place called Tardebigge, where the Worcester Birmingham Canal moves into open countryside, but still with signs of it’s industrial past.

9 thoughts on “A Black & White view of life

    • Thank you so much 🙂 Yes they are scanned, they were taken with my old SLR film camera for my C&G photo course. I actually developed and printed the whole caboodle in the cupboard under the stairs (my darkroom). LOL

  1. these are great – especially considering they are scanned. very impressive.
    i like the timelessness that b&w affords images, and some of these textures are great.
    thanks for sharing!

  2. Yes, I have to agree that some of the character has gone. I still love them though. There was a stretch further out that I wanted to get to but there’s only so much you can do in a day. 🙂 🙂 Love your black and whites.

Leave a Reply

